| Off-Campus Access |
ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct
(http://lawyersmanual.bna.com) provides news and guidance on legal ethics, including practice guides, model rules, ethics opinions, reports and more. (This url will send off-campus users a Security Warning and prompt them to Accept, Decline or View a certificate from our Proxy server. The user needs to ACCEPT the certificate in order to proceed.) A username and password are available for access to this product from off-campus. (See BNA All for other BNA titles.)
(http://www.atypon-link.com/AEAP/loi/aer) is a journal, published by the American Economic Association. There are four regular issues that publish articles on economic subjects, and one issue (May) that publishes the papers presented at the annual meeting of the Association. Full text of the journal is available from 1999 to date.
American Law and Economics Review
(http://aler.oxfordjournals.org/) is a refereed journal, published twice a year. It publish international work that is accessible to the full range of membership in the American Law and Economics Association, which includes practising lawyers, consulting economics and academic lawyers, and academic economists from around the world. The Review differs from other journals in the field, in that it features book reviews and review essays. It also differs from other scholarly economic journals in particular, in that the Editors endeavour to make the material more easily accessible to non-academics. Full text of the journal is available from volume 92 - present.
Matthew Bender Authority-on-Demand Immigration Law Library
(http://bender.lexisnexis.com) contains a great deal of information on immigration. For access to this service, go to Bender's Web page, and click on the link to Authority-on-Demand. The Immigration Law Library includes Bender's Immigration Bulletin, INS Manuals, Immigration Law and Procedure and many other useful sources. For locating material within the Immigration Library, the researcher may search individual or groups of publications or may browse from one subsection to another.
Baron, the Law Library Catalog
(http://baron.law.miami.edu) Baron is the catalog of holdings for the University of Miami Law Library. For the text-based version of the catalog (baron.law.miami.edu), login in as "public".
Bepress Legal Repository (Berkeley Electronic Press)
(http://law.bepress.com/repository) The bepress Legal Repository is a network of law-related research materials. Law schools, research units, institutes, centers, think tanks, conferences, and other subject-appropriate groups post materials to specific publications (e.g., the USC Working Paper Series). Content may be downloaded freely by interested readers. Search the repository or browse working paper series by University or Association or by Subject. Users can register to receive email alerts of new content. A subset of the Bepress Legal Repository is the Legal Scholarship Repository, which provides a free and persistent point of access for working papers, reports, lecture series, workshop presentations, and other scholarship from NELLCO (New England Law Library Consortium) member law schools.
(http://library.law.miami.edu/bna.php) provides over 100 titles containing current law, news and analysis in numerous subject areas, including antitrust, bankruptcy, ethics, family law, taxation and more. All BNA online titles are also available through Lexis and Westlaw for current law faculty, students and staff. Law faculty, staff and students may subscribe to automatic e-mail alerts of current contents which are available for most BNA titles. Sign up for summaries from licensed BNA news services, or change e-mail preferences. Sign up for summaries from licensed BNA reference libraries, or change e-mail preferences.
A username and password are available for access to this product from off-campus.
British Journal of Criminology
(http://bjc.oxfordjournals.org ) is of interest to those researching in the fields of criminal justice, criminology, law, penology, probation and social work. Full text of the journal is available from 1998 to date; abstracts are available from 1996 to date.
CALI (The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction)
(http://www2.cali.org/) CALI provides over one hundred interactive exercises written by law faculty and librarians. The exercises are designed to enhance traditional education or to be integrated into course materials. They cover a great variety of topics, including Administrative Law, Contracts, Evidence, Examination Skills, and many more. The web page requires users to register. The registration requires a Law School Authorization Code password.
CCH Internet Business and Finance Research Network
(http://business.cch.com/ipnetwork), covers many different topics, such as securities, banking, trade regulation, federal energy guidelines and more. This wide-ranging product includes the full text of publications like the Federal Securities Law Reporter, the Bank Compliance Guide, FERC Reports, Copyright Law Reporter, Trade Regulation Reporter, the Products Liability Reporter, and much more. You can also download the Quick Start Training Guide for a description of how to search this site.
CCH Internet Tax Research Network
(http://tax.cchgroup.com/ipnetwork) includes a wealth of Federal, State and international tax information. It incorporates the full text of such tools as the Standard Federal Income Tax Reporter, the Federal Estate/Gift Tax Reporter, the IRS Code, Letter Rulings, State tax reports, recent, pending and final legislation in the States, Tax Notes International and much more. Each portion of the product may be searched by keyword or term, and browsed by subsection. You can also download the Quick Start Training Guide for a description of how to search this site.
(http://www.charlestonco.com) a quarterly journal which evaluates Web products based on their content, cost, usability and other criteria.
The Chronicle of Higher Education
(http://www.chronicle.com) The Chronicle web site includes the current edition of the weekly Chronicle of Higher Education, daily news updates and a searchable archive of the Chronicle dating back to 1995. Also includes Chronicle's Almanac (back to 1995), The Chronicle Review and The Chronicle of Philanthropy. An RSS feed is available through software available on the Chronicle's web site.
(http://web.lexis-nexis.com/congcomp/) Contains federal legislative material, such as congressional bills, reports, and hearings. Congressional (LexisNexis) has indexes available and the full text of many bills, reports, and other material. Most publications are searchable by keyword or by citation, in addition to other terms, such as witness or bill sponsor. Congressional also includes the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection 1789-1969. Also included are Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports and Committee Prints from 2004 to present.
Constitutions of the Countries of the World
( http://oceanalaw.com/) Provides English translations in full-text of almost 200 country constitutions. The user can browse for constitutions by country name or search the full-text. Advanced search features allow you to search for constitutions by geographic regions, political affiliation or economic connection (e.g. all countries that are OECD members.). Some historical versions are also available. Introductory and comparative notes explain recent amendments and provide pertinent historical, political and economic information. Go to the pull-down menu called “Select a Product” on the left side of the screen, and select “CCW” to enter the service. Only one user may access this service at one time.
Corporate Accountability Report
(http://pubs.bna.com/ip/BNA/car.nsf) Weekly reporting of news of legal developments concerning officers and directors, professional responsibility, executive compensation, financial reporting, corporate disclosure, benefit plans, and other issues of corporate governance. A username and password are available for access to this product from off-campus. (See BNA All for other BNA titles.)
(http://pubs.bna.com/ip/BNA/CWB.NSF) Weekly publication offering news and analysis of current criminal cases, federal criminal legislation, and actions and proposals of the Department of Justice and federal agencies. A username and password are available for access to this product from off-campus. (See BNA All for other BNA titles.)
Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) (Marian Gould Gallagher Law Library)
(http://cilp.nellco.org) Weekly index of articles from over 500 legal periodicals with links to the full-text available through Lexis or Westlaw. CILP is available 4-6 weeks before commercial legal periodical indexes such as the Index to Legal Periodicals, Legal Trac or the Current Law Index. You must be a registered, authorized Lexis or Westlaw user to access the full-text articles indexed in CILP.
(http://www.bepress.com/ev) This journal is a non-partisan forum for economists to present innovative policy ideas or engaging commentary on the issues of the day, edited by Joseph E. Stiglitz, Columbia University. Readers include professional economists, lawyers, policy analysts, policymakers, and students of economics. Receive notification of new articles by clicking on the "Join Our Email Notification List" icon and submitting your email address.
(http://www.emeraldinsight.com) A library of over 100 journal titles, covering 10 different subjects. The subjects covered include: Engineering, General Management, Human Resources, Information Management, Library and Information Services, Marketing, Operations, Production & Economics, Property, Quality, and Training & Education.
Environmental Law Reporter (ELR)
(http://www.elr.info/index.cfm) The Environmental Law Reporter (ELR) - From the Environmental Law Institute, is a database of state, federal and international primary law sources searchable by a topical index or by author, document title, document number or date. Also includes Guidance and Policy documents, ELR's News & Analysis, State News & Analysis, International News & Analysis, ELR Health and Safety News & Analysis and ELR Update, an e-mail news service. Replaces the ELR loose-leaf which is no longer available in print.
(http://www.leaonline.com/loi/eb) An interdisciplinary journal with contributions from specialists in law, medicine, pediatrics, psychiatry, psychology, public health, sociology, and theology provides a wide spectrum of perspectives toward ethical and moral issues.
European Journal of International Law
(http://ejil.oxfordjournals.org ) uses a combination of theoretical and practical approaches to keep readers up to date with developments in the area. It also provides systematic coverage of the relationship between international law and the law of the European Union and its Member States. Full text of the journal is available from 1998 to date.
Everglades Litigation Collection
(http://www.law.miami.edu/everglades) The University of Miami School of Law Library possesses an important collection of Everglades litigation documents. The collection contains materials gathered from over fifty lawsuits concerning the ecological degradation of the Everglades.
(http://www.fastcase.com) An alternative to Westlaw and Lexis for case law research, Fastcase.com offers advanced searching on state and federal cases. Free to members of the Florida Bar, students may want to experience Fastcase which uses relevancy ranking to sort results and enables printing of cases with original pagination in .pdf format. Available by password to law school students, faculty and staff. Password is subject to change once a year.
Florida Commission on Ethics - Hearing Opinions
(http://www.ethics.state.fl.us) opinions from the State of Florida Commission on Ethics from 1974 forward. This site also includes rules and orders of the Commission.
(http://www.floridalawweekly.com) search judicial decisions from Florida Law Weekly - Florida Supreme Court, District Court of Appeals and Attorney General decisions from 1995 - present; Get cross citations to official reporters. Florida Law Weekly Federal - U.S. Supreme Court, District Court, Bankruptcy Court and 11th Circuit decisions from March 2001. Florida Law Weekly Supplement - Florida Circuit and County Court decisions and selected reports from Florida public agencies from October 1992. Sign-up for email alerts of new decisions.
(http://www.fso-online.com) is a directory of journals and other periodicals detailing where the researcher can find the fulltext of the journal online.
(http://www.bepress.com/gj/) is a forum for "cyber-debate" on such issues as comparative law, law and economics, and legal anthropology. Global Jurist is actually three separate publications: Global Jurist Advances, Global Jurist Frontiers and Global Jurist Topics. (Click tabs near top of page for each publication.) Access is available anywhere on campus or, if not on campus, a password can be e-mailed to a miami.edu account. (See My Account. Be careful to enter the password exactly as issued.)
(http://heinonline.org) Hein Online has eight major library collections: the Law Journal Library (including older issues of journals), the Federal Register Library (1936-1990), the Presidential Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, the Legal Classic Treatises Library, the Federal Legislative History Library, the U.S. Supreme Court Library and the Jessup International Moot Court Competition Library. All of these libraries are image-based and fully-searchable, meaning that they provide exact page images and enable the researcher to view all pages as they originally appeared.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals indexes articles from more than 450 legal periodicals from 1985 to the present. The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals covers international law (public and private), comparative law, and municipal law of countries other than the United States, British Isles, and British Commonwealth.
(http://hwwilsonweb.com/?consmiami) The Index to Legal Periodicals indexes articles from legal periodicals (beginning as early as 1981, depending on the periodical) and indexes law books (since 1993). The Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective covers periodicals from 1918 to 1981. Researchers can search one or both databases at the same time. Periodical coverage includes law reviews, bar journals, institutes, government publications and more. Once logged into the Index to Legal Periodicals, the researcher can get additional information on this resource by clicking on the Database button.
(http://www.indexmaster.com/) Indexmaster provides the index and table of contents from recently published legal treatises, including publishers such as West Group, Aspen Law & Business, Lexis Law Publishing, Kluwer Law International, and many others. These sources are searchable by keyword, title, author or subject.
(http://ilj.oxfordjournals.org ) provides comment and in-depth analysis on a wide range of topics relating to employment law. Full text of the journal is available from 1998 to date.
International and Comparative Law Quarterly
(http://iclq.oxfordjournals.org) covers comparative law as well as public and private international law. Full text of the journal is available from Vol. 50 (2001) to date.
International Journal of Constitutional Law
(http://icon.oxfordjournals.org ) A project of New York University School of Law, coverage includes international and comparative constitutional law. Full text of the journal is available from Vol. 1 (2003) to date.
International Journal of Law and Information Technology
(http://ijlit.oxfordjournals.org) covers computer law and the use of technology in legal practice. Full text of the journal is available from 1998 to date.
International Journal of Law, Policy and Family
(http://lawfam.oxfordjournals.org/) contains articles that analyze family law, the sociological aspects of the family with regard to law and legal policy and related. It also includes reviews of books and relevant reports. Full text of the journal is available from 1998 to date.
International Journal of Refugee Law
(http://ijrl.oxfordjournals.org) is a key source material in the field of refugee protection, discussing critical issues, such as the causes of refugee and related movements, internal displacement, the situation of women and refugee children, human rights, restrictive policies, asylum, populations at risk and the conditions in different countries. The journal publishes original articles, documents, case abstracts, comments, book reviews and annotated bibliographies of reports and other publications. Full text of the journal is available from Vol. 10 (1998) to date.
The Internet Guide for the Legal Researcher, 3rd ed.
( http://www.infosourcespub.com/leg_researchers.cfm) Online version of the book, The Internet Guide for the Legal Researcher, 3rd ed., this source provides detailed information on using the internet as a legal research tool, from e-mail to web sites. Password required.
IP Notes (by Juris)
(http://www.jurisnotes.com) publishes Intellectual Property Notes, an electronic newsletter containing cases, articles and news on intellectual property law. Law students and faculty can sign up by going to www.jurisnotes.com and clicking on "Sign Up". Be sure to provide your law school e-mail address to validate that you are an authorized user. Issues are automatically e-mailed to your account twice weekly. Selected cases, articles and back issues are free on the web site.
(http://www.bepress.com/ils/) is a forum for discussion on topics in the field of legal scholarship. Access is available anywhere on campus or, if not on campus, a password can be e-mailed to a miami.edu account. (See My Account. Be careful to enter the password exactly as issued.)
Journal of Conflict and Security Law
(http://jcsl.oxfordjournals.org) is a bi-annual, referred journal, covering all aspects of the international law of armed conflict, from the pre-conflict stage through the outbreak of armed conflict. Full text of the journal is available from 2000 to date.
Journal of Economic Literature
(http://www.atypon-link.com/AEAP/loi/jel) is a journal, published by the American Economic Association. It has book reviews, surveys, a bibliography of new books and list of new disseratations. Full text of the journal is available from volume 40 to the current volume.
Journal of Economic Perspectives
(http://www.atypon-link.com/AEAP/loi/jep) is a journal, published by the American Economic Association. It has articles related to economics and research, public policy, scholarship and practice. Full text of the journal is available from volume 16 to the current volume.
(http://jel.oxfordjournals.org) includes articles on a wide variety of topics, such as recent cases, current and emerging concepts and policies. There is also an annual European Case Law section providing full annotation of all cases on environmental law issues. Full text of the journal is available from 1998 to date.
Journal of Ethics and Social Philosophy
(http://www.jesp.org) an online peer-reviewed journal of moral, political and legal philosophy from the University of Southern California. Unrestricted access.
Journal of International Criminal Justice
(http://jicj.oxfordjournals.org) addresses problems of justice from the angle of law, jurisprudence, criminology, penal philosophy, and the history of international judicial institutions. Full text of the journal is available from 2003 to date.
Journal of International Economic Law
(http://jiel.oxfordjournals.org) stimulates attention to a broad range of subjects that concern the relation of law to international economic activity. Full text of the journal is available from Vol. 1 (1998) to date.
Journal of Law, Economics and Organization
(http://jleo.oxfordjournals.org) is an interdisciplinary journal examining the interconnectedness of law, economics, and organization perspective. Full text of the journal is available from 1998 to date; abstracts are available from 1996 to date.
Journal of Philosophy, Science & Law
(http://www.psljournal.com/) is an interdisciplinary journal examining the interconnectedness of applied philosophy, science and law, sponsored by the University of Miami Ethics Programs and Georgia Tech School of Public Policy.
(http://jrs.oxfordjournals.org) includes articles on a wide variety of issues involving refugee populations. Full text of the journal is available from 2001 to date; abstracts are available from 1996 to date.
Journal of Science and Technology Law
(http://www.law.miami.edu/library/jstl) The Journal of Science & Technology Law, a student-edited publication from Boston University School of Law, includes articles from experts in the areas of biotechnology, computers and technology, intellectual property, and business law. The Journal is an exclusively electronic journal.
(http://lpr.oxfordjournals.org) includes articles on topics involving the intersection of law and probabilistic reasoning.
(http://www.lawmemo.com) publishes Employment Law Memo, e-mail summaries of cases, articles and new developments in employment and labor law delivered three times a week with links to full-text cases. Access is restricted to full-time law students, faculty and staff of the Law School. The NLRB Memo, which is not restricted to the law school community, contains e-mail summaries of NLRB decisions with links to the full-text and is issued once weekly. Interested full-time law students, faculty and staff should e-mail hwohl@law.miami.edu and indicate which Memo they would like to receive.
Legal Scholarship Network (LSN)
(http://www.ssrn.com/lsn/index.html) Each LSN journal issue contains abstracts of recent working or accepted papers and comes in the form of indiviudally delivered email messages. Each journal is edited by a law professor with expertise in the field covered by the journal. Each abstract is accompanied by an email address for the author, whom you can contact to obtain a full copy of any paper you are interested in, and often a web site address from which the paper can be downloaded free of charge. To sign-up for the e-mail service, click on "Subscribe to Networks and Journals," then "Legal Scholarship Network Site licenses," then "join an existing site." The main page (http://www.ssrn.com) also gives the researcher the ability to search and download papers.
LegalTrac (also known as Legal Resource Index)
( http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/miami_law) LegalTrac indexes over 800 legal periodicals by subject or keyword. Coverage begins around 1980 for most journals. For earlier articles, check Hein Online. See also The Making of Modern Law
(http://argentina.lexisnexis.com.ar/) LexisNexis Argentina is one of the most extensive and up-to-date Spanish-language legal databases in the world. Subscribers gain access to more than 500,000 documents in Argentine national and provincial legislation, codes, constitutions, and cases. It also includes scholarly articles and treatises. Text is in Spanish only. LexisNexis Argentina requires a user name and password to access the product.
(http://www.llmc-digital.org) The Law Library Microform Consortium is digitizing its microform content which includes collections of U.S. Federal and State legal materials and much more. The collection is a work-in-progress. For a list of what is currently available in any of the Collections, go to the LLMC "Short Title List." Current collections include: Federal Legislative, Executive and Judicial Materials, U.S. State Court Reports, Military Law, The Common Law Abroad.
(http://www.loislawschool.com) includes statutes, administrative code, court rules and cases for state and federal jurisdictions as well as current awareness services for new opinions or other documents. Users register for an individual username and password using special access code.
(http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/miami_law) Historical collection of American and British legal treatises from the 19th to the early 20th Century (1800- 1926). Approximately 100 different subjects are covered. Theoretical as well as practical works are included together with casebooks, pamphlets, forms, letters and speeches. Full-text and keyword searching is available or you can browse by subject, author or title. See also LegalTrac
Muslim World Journal of Human Rights
(http://www.bepress.com/mwjhr/) Edited by scholars in Islamic studies, Middle Eastern studies and human rights.
National Center on Poverty Law
( http://www.povertylaw.org ) web site of the national non-profit Sargent Shriver National Center on Poverty Law. It includes over 500,000 documents (opinions, briefs, pleadings etc.) from over 53,000 cases. The site also has the "Poverty Law Manual for New Attorneys," the "Federal Practice Manual for Legal Aid Attorneys," "Clearinghouse Review" and many more resources to aid lawyers working in legal services.
(http://papers.nber.org) Abstracts and full-text of the National Bureau of Economic Research's Working Paper Series available on the web. NBER also offers an e-mail Bulletin which announces the latest papers in the series. To subscribe, send email to webmaster@nber.org with the word "subscribe" in the body of the e-mail or register online at http://www.nber.org/new.html. At registration you will create your own password. You can then login to register for e-mail delivery of the e-bulletin containing the latest working papers.
Oxford Journal of Legal Studies
(http://ojls.oxfordjournals.org) is published on behalf of the Faculty of Law in the University of Oxford. It includes articles on all areas of law with an emphasis on the relationship between law and other disciplines. Full text of the journal is available from 1999 to date.
Patent, Trademark & Copyright Journal
(http://pubs.bna.com/ip/BNA/PTC.NSF) Weekly journal covers news and legal developments in all aspects of intellectual property law. A username and password are available for access to this product from off-campus. (See BNA All for other BNA titles.)
(http://rsq.oxfordjournals.org) publishes current refugee and country information through a selection of articles, conference reports, documents, abstracts and bibliographies. Full text of the journal is available from 2001 to date.
(http://www.bepress.com/rle/) published in cooperation with the European Association of Law and Economics (EALE) and the Berkeley Electronic Press.
(http://checkpoint.riag.com) is a comprehensive tax research system including RIA's Federal, State, Local, International, Estate Planning, Pension, Benefits and Payroll products. It includes RIA's Federal Tax Coordinator (annotations arranged by subject), and the USTR (United States Tax Reporter - annotations arranged by U.S. Code section). It also includes international tax treaties, tax legislative history, state-by-state tax code comparisons, and the RIA tax e-mail alert service. WG & L journals and journal previews include Journal of Taxation, Journal of Corporate Taxation, Journal of Taxation of Exempt Organizations and Journal of Multistate Taxation and Incentives. Tax and Commercial Laws of the World includes English translations of foreign Income and Corporate Tax Law, Commercial Codes and selected other laws affecting financial transactions. Access is limited to authorized UM Law School Faculty, Staff and Students. Access is available from computers in the Law Library or by logging into the law school network from off-campus without a separate User-ID and Password. A User-ID and Password is also available to access this product outside of the Law Library. (Password instructions)
Richter Library Catalog (IBISWEB)
(http://ibisweb.miami.edu) Most of the holdings for the Richter, Rosenstiel (marine science), Pick (music), Mathematics, and Architecture libraries can be located through IBISWEB, the online library catalog.
Richter Library Subscription Databases
(http://www.library.miami.edu/search/eresources/databases.html) Richter Library provides students, faculty and staff with a wide variety of electronic databases and journals. For more information on this collection, see Richter Library E-Attractions in Law Library News, p. 2.
Santa Clara Journal of International Law
(http://www.scu.edu/scjil/) first published in March 2003 as an entirely electronic international law journal.
Securities Regulation and Law Report
(http://pubs.bna.com/ip/BNA/SRLR.NSF) Weekly news and analysis of SEC, CFTC and FASB actions, court cases and current and proposed legislation. A username and password are available for access to this product from off-campus. (See BNA All for other BNA titles.)
(http://lib.law.washington.edu/cilp/scilp.html ) For Law Faculty ONLY. SmartCILP indexes over 500 legal periodicals from the Current Index to Legal Periodicals. A profile is set-up for individual faculty members according to their subject and periodical interests. Each week an e-mail message is sent to the faculty member listing articles that match the profile. For information on setting up a SmartCILP profile, contact Barbara Brandon.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
(http://www.ssrn.com/) Composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Each network contains abstracts and full-text papers some of which are working papers. Free registration is required to download full-text papers. Faculty can subscribe to journals from the following 4 networks: the Legal Scholarship Network, the Financial Economics Network, the Management Research Network and the Economic Research Network.
(http://services.taxanalysts.com/Login) Includes daily Tax Notes, State Tax Today, Worldwide Tax Daily and Worldwide Tax Treaties. Law School faculty, students and staff can register for online delivery of any or all of the daily newsletters to their law school email address by clicking on any of the publication titles and selecting Email Services from the left-hand frame. Includes a searchable archive of all Tax Analyst's daily newsletters back to 1993.
(http://www.bepress.com/til/) is published by the Cegla Institute for Comparative and Private International Law of the Tel Aviv University Faculty of Law. Although the print issues are published two times per year, the electronic version is updated continuously. "The Journal specializes in the application to legal problems of insights developed in other disciplines, such as moral and political theory, epistemology, cognitive psychology, etc." Access is available anywhere on campus or, if not on campus, a password can be e-mailed to a miami.edu account. (See My Account. Be careful to enter the password exactly as issued.)
United Nations Treaty Collection Online
(http://untreaty.un.org) contains the text of international agreements registered with the United Nations since 1946 and information on the status of the registered treaties.
(http://pubs.bna.com/ip/BNA/LAW2.NSF)
United States Law Week reports weekly on the proceedings, opinions and activities of the
United States Supreme Court and other federal courts. Contents inlcude Legal News
Highlights and Case Alert Highlights. The Legal News section contains thorough reviews of
developments in the law including pending legislation, rules decisions or reaction to new
court decisions. The Summary & Analysis section, discusses certain cases in depth.
Analysis & Perspective provides a more in-depth review of issues in the Legal News.
The Circuit Split Roundup is a monthly feature describing differences between federal
circuit courts of appeals on points of law. The Supreme Court Today component of the
service is a searchable database of the status of certiorari petitions, full-text Supreme
Court opinions, summaries of selected oral arguments, an upcoming oral argument schedule
and an annual Review of Term section that analyzes some of the major topics considered
that term.
Authorized users can arrange to receive weekly e-mail summaries of United States Law Week
with links to the full-text articles. To receive the email, please contact
Helen Wohl or 284-2823.
For off-campus access, users must use a
user name
and password. (See BNA All for other BNA titles.)
U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection 1789-1969
(http://web.lexis-nexis.com/congcomp/) Consists of numbered Senate and House Documents and Senate and House Reports as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress. The collection also includes American State Papers and all maps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs found within the U.S. Serial Set during the time period 1789-1969. The collection is part of LexisNexis Congressional database and can be searched under the "Historical Full-text" tab.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
(http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/miami_richter?db=SCRB) A fully searchable digital archive containing 150 years of U.S. Supreme Court records and briefs. All briefs are included. The record for a case may contain the following types of documents: motions, petitions, oral transcripts, transcripts of the trial record, applications for writ, appendices, letter briefs and jurisdictional statements. All cases are included whether or not heard by the Court.
(http://worldtradelaw.net) The subscriber's portion of the database includes detailed summaries and analyses of all WTO Panel and Appellate Body reports called Dispute Settlement Commentaries. Commentaries are full-text searchable. Click on the link to Subscriber Main Page. The WTO Case Law Index provides a menu option for searching decisions by a specific WTO legal provision, legal term or concept. Dispute Settlement Documents (e.g. Panel Requests, Dispute Settlement Board Minutes) are also available and full-text searchable. The subscriber database also includes a table of WTO Dispute Settlements and Statistics. The free portion of the database includes a full-text search engine for GATT/WTO/NAFTA decisions and primary source documents related to international trade law, a discussion forum and links to other sources of information on the Web. WorldTradeLaw.Net allows subscribers to sign-up to be notified by e-mail when new Dispute Settlement Commentaries are issued.
Yale Human Rights and Development Law Journal
(http://islandia.law.yale.edu/yhrdlj) is available in an electronic version from this Web site. Paper copies of the journal are also available in the Law Library in the International Collection K3236.2 .Y25